I Got Some New Toys… HG Gypsy Avenger DX Set and Some Paint

Boi … It’s been a while since I last posted. I’ve had a fair few real life issues to deal with but not to worry I have new toys, RPG’s, and stuff to ramble and talk nonsense about.

I’ve a bit of a 2 for 1 deal for today’s post. The first new toy to ramble about is….

My new toy is the High Grade Gypsy Avenger DX Set from Bandai based upon the Jaeger of the same name from the film ‘Pacific Rim 2’. 

Incase you guys are interested I was able to pick up my Jypsy Avenger from the folks over at Dublin City Comics and Collectables.

There are two different kits available from Bandai for Gypsy Avenger, with the DX Set being the more expensive of the two (as it comes with a stand and a LED light).


If your fimiliar with Bandai’s Gundam model kits than you’ll know what to expect from Gyspy Avenger out of the box.


Inside the box you’ll find a number  of plastic runners, a display stand, the LED unit, and the instruction guide.

Straight out of the box Gyspy Avenger is nice and detailed. I’m especially liking the level of detail in the chest and stomach area.

The LED that comes with the DX Set inserts thru the back panel of the kit, and adds a cool reactor power effect.

If your a fan of mecha designs or of the film series, it’s a pretty nice kit with some nice extra’s. I thought I would take my kit one step further…

And now for your bonus part….

A while ago I heard about Greenstuff World Colour Shifting Paint, and thought ild get myself a pot or 2 to try out.


I picked up the Celestial Azure colour as it best matches the Box Art.

To use Greenstuff Worlds Colour Shifting Paint, it’s recommend that you first ‘Prime’ your model with a Black Primer, and then apply a gloss vanish to the parts to be painted.

For best results, ild recommend using an airbrush, but they can also be applied using a brush. As I don’t own an Airbrush, I painted my kit by brush… Just remember to do 2 thin coats.

I’m not actually messing about the 2 thin coats bit. If brushed on too thick, the Colour Shift Paint will pool and be milky (at least that’s my experience).

With just a quick dry brush to the Jaeger’s ‘inner frame’ and with nearly half the frame painted, Jypsy Avenger is looking good. Here’s a closer look at the chest an shoulder.

I gave the display stand that came with the kit a repaint while I was at it, and all in all I think I did a decent job of it.

Until next time, I’ll see you at the table.

– from The Man Cave

Leave a comment