Hobby Hack #1 – Panel Scriber

As hobbyists we are always looking to cut a few corners when it comes to our spending, cause let’s face it our hobbies ain’t cheap. 
So I thought I might as well share some hobby hacks I’ve come across. Sometimes they’ll be ones I use myself, other times it’ll be ones I’ve come across either on YouTube, one of the Facebook groups I’m in, etc etc.
First up, is a Panel Scriber. Panel Scribers are used to basically cut a line/shape into a model, to denote different metal panels in a models, an insignia/ mark on a model, or some such.
As an example, I’m currently (slowly, very slowly) building a model of the Battlestar Galactica.

As you can see, there’s a number of panels on the top and sides of Galactica’s head. Theses are nice, but a bit too shallow for my liking, so I’m going to use a Panel scriber to increase the depth between the panels. 
 Now I could go out and buy a Panel Scriber setting myself back at least €10, or I could make my own, which I did (costing me about €1.50).
What you will need is…

• a box of tacks

• a Bic biro

• a clippers

Take the plastic cap off the back of your biro. Taking one of your tacks, and using your clippers, you want to trim off the back of the tack, so that it snugly fits into the back of the biro.

Once this is done, your ready to rock and roll.

When you think your tack has dulled, simply trim the back off another tack, and away you go again.
Until next time, I’ll see you at the table.
– from The Man Cave

Leave a Reply

