The secret life of a Wargamer…

Every once in a while a certain image/ memes will show up on one of the facebook groups i’m a member of.

Typically, when i try to find it, to use in this post, its nowhere to be found.. So i’m just goning to throw this one in.

image

If you are a tabletop gamer you are bound to see it at some point.

Its basically an image of someone’s tabletop army displayed in all its glory, with the tag line ‘My greatest fear is that my wife will sell my models, for what I told her I paid for it’.

The image/ memes has always made me giggle secretly to myself, because for myself it’s true. I have at times ‘shaded’ the truth a little concerning the cost/ origins of my ‘toys’.

image

I have been playing tabletop games for a good 20 years at least.

I have played different gaming systems. I have collected different armies/ factions/ models from Space Marines + Necrons of Warhammer 40K, PanOceania’s Military Order for Infinity, Menoth + Convergence for Warmachine to the newest, The Morticians of Guildball and Gundam’s.

image

I just did a quick grab of some of the rule books/ army books i have lying around the house. I dont know if your like me but I tend to leave my books all over the place. One could be beside my chair, another in the kitchen and i’m not against leaving one in the bathroom.

image

As you can see, i play a few game systems.

Some times i myself wonder where i got the money for all my toys cause lets face it, armies/ factions arent cheap.

Sure, my other half gives me money come christmas or my birthday for my ‘toys’ but an army/ faction doesnt come from that.

image

May be i’m a Plastic Crack Addict, or suffer from Shiney Penny Syndrone, but there’s always that new something on the horizon that i want.

As a matter of fact, i recently received a bunch of new models from Miniature 13, that i backed on Kickstarter (on the sly), i’ve backed Hawk Wargames Kickstarter for Dropfleet Commander and i’m after getting new toys for Hawk Wargames Dropship Commander.

I have a misses and 3 kids, and my wages only go so far, so i have to be alittle ‘inventive’. At times i’ve ‘won’ models, a friend ‘gave’ them to me but usually i just sneak them into the house. If asked about them, the usual answer is ‘They’ve been sitting out in the shed for ages’

image

At the moment i have 2 boxes of Malifaux models (Rasputina + Sonia Crew boxes if i remember) and the starter box of Star Trek Attack Wing hiding in my mothers house for the past year or so, cause i havent sneaked then in yet and have been distracted by other ‘toys’.

What about you guys? Have you always been honest about where your ‘toys’ have come from?

– from The Man Cave

One thought on “The secret life of a Wargamer…

  1. I am always up front with what comes into and out of my man cave with my wife. That being said she controls all the money in the house. If I really want something I ask and usually she finds a way to make it happen. I also do a lot of trading on Bartertown to stretch my budget. The way she sees it I am not going out and spending money in a bar. I just spend hours in my garage building and painting. But i think my wife is the exception rather than the rule when it comes to understanding my hobby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

