Dark Matter

Just last night I had the chance to watch the first episode of Syfy Channels new Sci-fi show ‘Dark Matter’. So what is ‘Dark Matter’?

Ehhh, no not that ‘Dark Matter’, rather this one…

So what’s the show about and more importantly what’s it like? I’ll try not to give any spoilers away…

So whats the show about, well… 6 people wake up on a damaged ship with no memories of who they are or how they got on board… That didn’t take long now did it?

So whats the show like? Stargate SG-1’s Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie are behind Syfy’s new series, which explains (at least to me) a few things. I may be wrong, but to me the show seems to reuse the set of Stargate Universe…

… I was a fan of this show, shame it was cancelled, ah well I digress…

There’s not much of CGI in the first episode. The opening, a little bit of space flight and a smidgen more. The ship seems familiar in design/ looks but at the mo I can’t place it. On whole, decent enough. The sets are dimly lit with adds to the mystery of who are we? Where are we? What’s behind this door?

The characters… The characters are your typical cliché sci-fi group. Now these are based off my views and are up for change as the show develops because remember they don’t remember who they are. So roles could reverse. You have your leader character which is female (spoiler), your out for themselves gunslinger type, the intelligent tech type, the con man type, the big strong man with a soft heart type etc etc. To me theres really only one character that seems out of odds but we’ll wait and see how that develops before passing judgement. The actors seem to mesh well together which is good compared to some shows were its taken a few episodes for the actors to get comfy with each other.

On the whole not a bad start to a new series. I have some hopes for the show. To me it hints as a possible successor to Firefly…

Another show I liked but was cancelled… I think I’m starting to see a pattern…

I look forward to seeing how the season + characters develop….

– from The Man Cave

Leave a Reply

