May the 4th be with you…

Starting the 4th of May (tomorrow), Sky is going to start showing the Star Wars films and i have to say i’m really looking forward to it.

I’m a child of the 80’s, i grew up watching Star Wars on VHS (and usually at christmas) and playing with my Star Wars toys, most of which are still up in my mam’s attic. If you were a child of the 80’s in Dublin, you’ll remember Paddy Barretts.
image

I still, though vaguely, remember seeing A New Hope for the first time. I was about 6, i was at a christmas party being held at the local school. I remember being stopped in my tracks by the opening scenes of the Star Destroyer chasing down Princess Leia’s Corvette. To this day i still havent seen or experienced any thing like it.
image

Speaking for myself, The Empire Strikes Back, is my favourite of the whole lot. As a kid my dad got me it on VHS and i had my parents and brothers tormented by it. I would refuse to do my homework unless it was on.

From tomorrow i’ll have the chance to share or torment my kids with a piece of my childhood, i cant wait.

– from The Man Cave

Leave a Reply

